fotografia della madre

A mother's photographs

Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers

on July 19, 2011

I’d rather have roses on my table than diamonds on my neck. ~Emma Goldman

A short while ago, my son and I were driving home from jiu jitsu practice.  It was early evening and we saw the regular flower seller trying to sell his last roses.  It was so cold and I felt so sad for him.  I stopped and asked him how much he would sell the whole lot for.  It wasn’t a terribly large sum of money.  I asked him if he would be able to go home if I bought all of them.  He smiled happily.  Now we had a big bunch of flowers that I had to try get rid of before my hubby thought I had gone mad.  So my son and I rode around to a few homes of people I know and delivered the roses.  It felt really good being able to do that.  The next day I took photos of the roses that I kept for myself.

18 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers

  1. truthwithdoris says:

    so beautiful 🙂

  2. Robin says:

    Wonderful. They look exactly like so many bunches that I have bought from the side of road too!

  3. ceceliafutch says:

    Beautiful roses and beautiful act. I’m sure that you put a smile on many people’s faces. Beautiful.

  4. 4otomo says:

    great images 🙂

  5. Gorgeous! I missed the last challenge too. I’m glad to be able to participate in this one.

  6. what a lovely thing to do, and the roses are stunning 🙂

  7. Kamakshi says:

    Beautiful angles! I like them all

  8. Love your display of roses. They’re all beautiful. Kudos to you for your acts of kindness.

  9. 2e0mca says:

    Some nice colours there – good set of shots.

  10. pix & kardz says:

    i enjoyed your story – and love the roses. the ones on the lower half are my favourite colour.
    thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

